JILLIAN HATES MY FETTUCINE ALFREDO WITH HAM, MUSHROOMS AND PEAS

I can visualize Jillian Michaels “I hate you” face while developing this recipe.  Of course I can cheat and make a light version.  But I like the real thing, man, the real Mc Coy, the wicked, the sinful fettucine alfredo.   If my philosophy and motto in life is: “Smile and the world will smile with you!”, Jillian’s would probably be:  Eat and I’m after you, loser! 

Oh Jillian, I’m not in your show, The Biggest Loser…so spare me!

JILLIAN HATES MY FETTUCINE ALFREDO WITH HAM, MUSHROOMS AND PEAS

This is one of my favorite pasta dishes…but I’m sure Jillian of the Biggest Loser won’t recommend this!

1 lb package fettucine, cooked al dente with a sprinkle of italian seasoning, salt and oil and drained

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter

1 onion, finely chopped

1 tablespoon minced garlic

2 cups heavy cream

1 can (10.5 oz) cream of mushroom soup

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

1 cup deli ham or leftover ham, julienned

1 cup frozen peas

1 can (4 oz) mushroom stems and pieces

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

Melt butter in a wok or large skillet. Stir in chopped onion and minced garlic; saute until tender. Add heavy cream, mushroom soup, black pepper, basil, julienned ham, mushrooms, and peas; cook for about 8 minutes, stirring until well blended. Stir in grated parmesan cheese and adjust seasoning. Add cooked fettucine and toss with alfredo sauce. Transfer to serving plates and top with more grated parmesan cheese.

I craved for this dish today…added a can of vienna sausage, frozen mixed vegetables, freshly squeezed juice of 1/2 lime, and chopped fresh parsley.

If I have one treat I can let Jillian Michaels enjoy if our paths cross one day…it’s my 3 layer Sapin Sapin (rice cake)…look Jillian…look!

Leave a Reply

