These (TUNA CAKES) are a few of my favorite things

Simple me…simple things.

Looks easy to me…it’s in my “to do” list of things.

They’re scrumptious…who will say no (not me) to these things.

And most of all, cheap!…omg, it ranks top in my favorite things.

It’s dinnertime, and I don’t feel like chopping more veggies (I already have a coleslaw waiting for a pairing in my fridge), slicing meats (I’m not really feelin’ vegan, but it’s time to say no to meats tonite), cooking pasta al dente (Spaghetti, fettucine, linguini, macaroni, oh please, It’s not Giada moment tonite).

Search (physically, not virtually)…look (just a quickie one, I aint’ movin stuff now)…pantry…cupboard…lo and behold…2 cans of tuna.

Promising…but no tuna casserole for me, not even tuna fettucine. Ok, I got it now! Tuna cakes, yes, and I could finally use the remaining cup of grated zucchini in my freezer. First things first, I defrosted grated zucchini, then transferred to sieve to drain off excess moisture.

Have you had tuna cakes lately? My easy recipe will make you want to do these tuna cakes soon, really tuna cakes are a few of my favorite things!

TUNA CAKES FOR 2

2 cans tuna, drained well

2/3 cup plain bread crumbs (plus extras, about 1/3 cup for dredging, if desired)

1 cup finely grated zucchini

1 medium onion, chopped finely

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 large egg

1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon Old Bay seafood seasoning

1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

freshly squeezed juice of 1 lime

2 tablespoons cooking oil

Mix all together (that’s so easy!) in a medium bowl. Divide into 4 portions and shape into thin patties. You may want to dredge in extra bread crumbs (if you got extra, if not, you can just opt for naked tuna cakes). Refrigerate 1 hour. Heat oil in nonstick skillet. Cook cakes, 4 to 5 minutes each side until nicely golden brown. Serve with Louisiana seafood sauce (i love this sauce!) and coleslaw. Finish with a scoop of your favorite ice cream (go ahead and drizzle with caramel topping, indulge!).

Coleslaw recipe, but of course, here it is…

SWEETEST COLESLAW

3/4 cup good quality mayonnaise

1/4 cup sourcream

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup well-drained canned crushed pineapple

1/4 cup raisins or craisins

1 carrot, peeled and julienned

1/2 large green cabbage, finely shredded

Combine. Chill well before serving.

Leave a Reply

