All Yule photos and goodie giveaways

My Yuletide season is always full of sweet “palatable” memories. Not always fun, sometimes stressful enough, but all in all, nothing can compare to making foods, mostly “native treats or kakanins” that are sure to satisfy your diners or blow your recipients (customers) away. This year’s baking creations (without preservatives or extenders or “daya”) were simply the best that I thought at one point I caught Santa giving me a “wink”. No leftovers, and I really cleaned up my kitchen pantry; my stockpile of flour, sugar, nuts, etc. were at its lowest I need a trip to Sam’s club to get my pantry in “good shape” again.

 

My bibingka royale gets a nice “makeover” courtesy of my handy blow torch; there was no need to broil and sometimes end up burning top of my bibingka.

The Chicken Empanadas were enjoying a “blistering” fry in canola oil, making them a crunchy treat all night long.  Crust and filling all done from scratch.



I made this tall Chocolate-Mango Chiffon Cake for a special Christmas dinner with my Glenn’s family.  The chocolate swirls in the cake slices were awesome.  And I just love airy, light and not-too-sweet chiffon cakes. (Recipe in separate post.)



There will always be ham involved and my sister-in-law always enjoy the pineapple-flavorings.   Buy an inexpensive spiral-cut cooked ham and in hours, transform it into a “mouth-watering” beauty.  Just 2 main ingredients: crushed pineapple with the juice and brown sugar.  Note:  A must-have tool for this ham — meat thermometer.  Here’s a photo of the ham before baking.



And why not bake some hawaiian sweet rolls (also with pineapple flavoring) to pair with tender slices of ham, yumm!  Recipe included in my cookbook, leave me a comment if you’d like to own one or 2.  Special pricing for my wonderful readers, indeed.



‘Nang Isabel Jardeleza requests for Christmas get-together party:  sapin-sapin (layered steamed rice cake), sans rival (crunchy meringue layers with buttercream).  And the girls went gaga after bites of my sans rival (they requested for one more for the NY party, now what can I say!)









And then an order for my “better-than-storebought” siopao or steamed pork buns.  Someone in Virginia is enjoying these “you-can-eat-the-dough” siopao.  And the folks in Virginia want cuchinta too next time around.



And more orders for my cuchinta (steamed rice cake rounds), coconut macaroons, bibingka royale and chicken empanadas.



Each year at the studio, we celebrate New Year with a pink brunch, and always my “centerpiece” cake is nicely dressed in pink.  It’s a mango chiffon cake.



And bites after bites of my “cute” meringue swirls, so festive, so tempting, so yummy.  (Recipe in separate post.)



and the surprise of ’em all, Stained Glass No-bake Cheesecake emerged the winner.  No leftovers whatsoever.  Recipe requests followed, everybody wants to make ’em, devour ’em (can’t blame ’em, really).  Recipe will be in a separate post.



All yumm…did I make you all hungry? 

Leave a Reply

