Have you made a Cheese Rabbit yet?

It’s the Year of the Rabbit!  And when I found this recipe in an old Kraft’s Main Dish Cookbook, I bookmarked this right away for a future blog post.  When it was time to type the recipe in my Jarte word processing program, I got sidetracked.  Three days later, I had time but then I couldn’t find that book; I got very upset after a whole day of searching over my “junk” files.  I finally gave up and just quit trying, I had enough.  And as always, when items  disappear for awhile and you quit looking for them, somehow these missing things would just reappear.  And yes the book reappeared, and with a grin, I just told myself “The spirits of the rabbits move things to mess with me and annoy me”.   Okay, rabbits you had your fun, now on to the recipe.

CLASSIC CHEESE RABBIT
Obviously, when you heat hearty Cheddar cheese with bubbling beer, then add egg and serve it over crisp toast triangles, you call it “rabbit”! Duh! (I just added this last word).

2 cups (8 oz) shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 cup beer or ale
2 tablespoons margarine
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
1 egg, slightly beaten
Toast triangles

Heat cheese, beer, margarine and seasonings in double boiler; stir until sauce is smooth.  Blend in egg; stir until thickened.  Serve over toast triangles.

I know I’m not eating any dish cooked with real rabbit meats , but this dish I can.

 

Leave a Reply

