Martha-inspired Lime Meltaways

I would have loved to give away some of my all-time favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies, but my neighbor James would prefer a much softer form of cookies.  BTW, I love my choco chip cookies crispy, so when I bite on ’em my mouth would just enjoy the crackles sensation and all.   I wasn’t really too sure what James really wanted.  But since this is a gift and not a loan (haha, I’ve been watching Judge Judy and Judge Millian), James will just have to contend with what’s already present in my pantry.  So I’ve got some bargain limes waiting to be used for fajita marinades, which I really don’t have immediate plans of making.  I can use these limes, zest and juice, for a melt-in-the-mouth cookies and I’m using Martha Stewart’s Lime Meltaways recipe.   So after a nice shower, I was ready to get “heated up” again in my kitchen.

MARTHA-INSPIRED LIME MELTAWAYS

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, softened
1/3 cup confectioners’ sugar
Grated zest pf 2  limes, plus 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (I placed tablespoonfuls of extra lime juice in ice cube tray and freeze ’em)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon RUM (because James is an adult; if making for kids, just substitute vanilla)
1 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch (See note)
1/4 teaspoon salt
Extra confectioners’ sugar to coat baked cookies

Note:  Measure 1 cup of all-purpose flour and dump into a small mixing bowl.  Next, measure 2 tablespoons cornstarch into empty (1 cup measure) dry measuring cup and then fill it up all-purpose flour, level and add to the 1 cup flour already in the mixing bowl.

Cream butter and 1/3 confectioners’ sugar using electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Add the lime zest, lime juice, vanilla and rum, mixing well.  Stir in flour mixture and salt, mixing on low speed until just combined.

Cover dough and refrigerate until cold and firm, about 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Line ungreased large baking trays with parchment paper; set aside.

Using mini ice cream scooper, drop balls of cold cookie dough onto prepared baking tray, spacing 1 inch apart.  Using floured bottom of quarter-size measuring cup, flatten cookies a bit for even baking.

Bake until just nicely golden, about 13- 15 minutes.  Cool about 10 minutes (don’t touch ’em, so fragile, until ready to roll in confectioners’ sugar).  Toss cookies gently in confectioners’ sugar, coating all over.   Makes about 2 dozens.

Soo good, gotta make some for myself!

Leave a Reply

