AWESOME Banana Muffins

A trip to Sam’s Club always means purchasing my favorite “no-hard-crust” French bread (I love it for garlic bread, Philly steak sandwiches and even BBQ beef sandwiches, etc).  But I’d always stop by for some minutes to enjoy looking (also touching, yes) at clear packages of huge muffin quickbreads — they’re soo good, soft and moist but just not at all “figure-friendly” so I’d contend with my french bread purchase, smile and walk away.

These bakery-style huge muffins, of course, couldn’t really be duplicated at home.   Special ingredients, leaveners, improvers/conditioners are usually added, and heavy-duty bakery equipments used make all the difference.   This didn’t stop me though from playing/working with banana cake/bread recipes I found online.  With trial and error and a bit of luck, I came up with this banana muffins formulation that I really considered AWESOME and I’m sharing the recipe with all my wonderful readers.

AWESOME BANANA MUFFINS
Always use (never throw them away) overripe bananas with plenty of black specks (and I even took a snapshot of these bananas I used for this recipe.

5 over-ripe bananas, peeled and mashed with fork
1/2 cup (1 stick) margarine
1 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3 tablespoons rum (I used Brugal anejo rum)
1/2 cup sour cream
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Insert paper liners into 14 – 16  Texan muffin pan holes.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together margarine and sugars with electric mixer.  Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.  Blend in mashed bananas, vanilla, oil, rum and sour cream.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in medium bowl.  Add to banana mixture; mix well.  Stir in shredded coconut.

Fill each prepared muffin cup with about 1/2 cup of the batter.  Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until a wooden skewer inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean.  Allow muffins to cool for 10 minutes in the pan .  Remove from pans and cool completely on wire racks.

All my “never say never” cake tasters give this recipe a double thumbs-up!  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “AWESOME Banana Muffins

  1. good morning! can i use my mini electric oven? my oven size is like the size of the microwave. bigger than oven toaster, the highest temperature is 250c. the brand is micromatic . thanks for your regular posting of the diffferent recipe.good luck to your company! have a nice day!

    • hi lourdes…my very frist oven was one you put on top of stove..and that opened my eyes to the magical world of baking. so i dont see why u cant make cakes in a mini oven. cakes now can be made from crockpots, steamers, and rice cookers. start with a small batch of batter and test it using ur electric oven. ty for the nice greetings…and all the best to your bakin n cookin as well

Leave a Reply

