“Excellent” Pancit Bihon Recipe for Catherine (BOB Recipe)

To a non-Filipino, the pancit that’s regularly showing up at business functions or social gatherings is Pancit Bihon (or Sauteed Rice Stick Noodles.  Catherine, I met at a recent Roy’s dinner event, simply knew this as Pancit.  She asked for a “worth-the-visit” Filipino Restaurant around Chicago area and If the restaurant would still be open at this time, my quick reply would be the Filipiniana Restaurant in Niles.  She heard about Sunda, which was next on my list of “thumbs-up” Filipino Restaurants.  I asked Catherine to visit my blogpage and check some Filipino recipes, including the Express Pancit Bihon recipe I posted a while back.

Yesterday I was running out of ideas about what to cook for dinner.  My goal was to bring my freezer to “almost-empty” condition, and make way for some holiday make-ahead goodies.  I found 2 packages of Excellent Pancit Bihon…haven’t had pancit lately, it’s time for pancit.

But wait, I didn’t do much shopping either this weekend…no fresh green beans (or sugar snap peas) and no Chinese sausages either (you would need about 3 pieces for each batch, slice diagonally and fry first before sauteing the meats and vegetables).  Ok, time for Plan B.   For the sausage, I used pepperoni (intended for pizza of course), sliced them into strips.  For the meat, I used boiled chicken breasts that I shredded.

So for Catherine, here’s the recipe of Pancit Bihon at the back of the package of Excellent-brand rice stick noodles.   Regular pancit makers insist on using only this brand, Excellent.   And only one thing to remember Catherine, same flavored stock should be used for both the meats/vegetables and noodles.  I squeeze always some lemon juice in the stock for that extra-special taste.

PANCIT BIHON GUISADO

227 gms.  Excellent Rice Stick
1 tablespoon cooking oil
1 medium-sized onion
1 cup pork or chicken meat
3 tablespoons shelled shrimps (for me, this is optional)
1/2 cup carrots
1 cup shredded cabbage
5 tablespoons soy sauce
2 1/2 cups soup stock
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons oyster sauce (I add more!)
1 clove garlic
1/2 cup sweet peas (optional for me as well)

Saute garlic and onion until golden brown in a frying pan.  Add meat and shrimps.  Season with oyster sauce, pepper, salt and soy sauce.  Add vegetables and soup stock.  Bring to a boil.  Remove meat and vegetables from the mixture.  Cook noodles in sauce fo 3-5 minutes.  Remove cooked noodles from the frying pan and arrange it on a platter.  Sprinkle meat and vegetables on top of the noodles.  Serve with calamansi (Philippine lemon, but of course, use ordinary lemon, cut in wedges).   Check out my next post on Tito Joe’s calamansi tree.

Leave a Reply

