My friend Maricel’s New Year “Round Things”

No squares for the New Year, unless you happen to be in New York City’s Times Square…gotta be or gotta have lots and lots of “round things” for good luck!  Well, I love a prosperous New Year and I’d always wear blouse or dress with polka dots lol!  My friend Maricel called me up from Canada and begged me (and how can I say NO to her, she’d always make me believe I make the best kakanins in Chicago…definitely not true, but I’ve been making her native sweets for years, for the record!) to make her some “round sweets” to celebrate the New Year.

COCONUT MACAROONS

 

SAPIN-SAPIN (Layered Rice Cake)

 

BIBINGKA ROYALE

 

UBE HALEYA IN ROUND PAN

 

PUTONG-PUTI

 

CUCHINTA

 

Happy New Year to All!  And I’m not yet sure about my New Year’s Resolutions…more of some things…less of many things.

Leave a Reply

